I Know, I Know. . .

…So, it’s been a while.  Sue me.

I’m kidding.  Please don’t do that.

Last time we talked I had just finished my second half marathon! Craziness.  Life has been so busy these last few weeks that I’ve had little time to keep up with blogging.  Reading my millions of blogs has not been a problem though. ;)

The half marathon.  I will say that I wish I would have done better.  I kind of expected to improve from my last one, but I came in with pretty much the exact same finishing time.   I’m starting to see a pattern for myself.  I train really well and gain a lot of confidence that when the race gets closer, I tend to back off my training.   Lesson learned: push hard all the way through.  I think if I would have done this, and gotten in my 12 mile training run as planned, I would have killed it.  BUT I have to remember that I finished and that was pretty much my only goal…besides doing better than my first half.

Another lesson learned:  Keep with your routine on race day. For some reason, the night before the race, I decided I was going to go without music on race day.  I NEVER run without music.  Since it was a Rock N’ Roll I figured that having music along the course would suffice.  Nope.  I needed my tunes.

Another thing that I did not do during training was experiment with long run fueling.  Typically, if you run more than 75 (it may be more or less than that depending on your source) minutes you need to fuel during your run.  I never did this.  So, when race day came and I popped some sports gels, my body freaked a little.  But I really needed fuel by mile 8-9. . .otherwise I probably would have fainted.

Lesson learned:  Cross train.   I think this would have made me a lot stronger.  Running for 3 months straight got boring too. Hoping to join a gym once we move (what?!…yeah, we’re moving. More about this later) and get in on some fitness classes.  I love those!

For the full(in Portland Oregon!!) in October,  I need to be extremely focused.  Training for 4 months is going to be hard.  I’m excited for the challenge and hoping to take the experiences I have had and better myself for Portland.  Really thankful that I will have a group to train with and push me towards this goal.

Enough about running.  Guess what!

WE BOUGHT A HOUSE!!!! We close next week and I cannot wait.  So blessed and thankful that we were able to find something that we love and in a great location.  We’re next to a park and a Whole Foods.  I’m really glad that I will not have to give up my frequent WF visits. I love you, WF.  You’re almost like my best friend.  Almost.

We’ll be moving slowly since our lease is not up on our apartment until July.  Speaking of, if you know anyone wanting to sub-lease from May-July send them our way.  We’ll make them a great deal!

We’re excited to paint ever surface!  I’m not keeping the master bedroom hunter green with gold sponge painting on top.  It was just too pretty for us to keep.  NOT. Sick nasty color.  Once we close I’ll post some beautiful pictures of our first home! :o)

Here is a tribute to our little apartment which I have grown to love so much.

Leave a Reply

