Well, here we go again.

I’ve been flirting with the idea of running another 1/2 marathon for a while now and to be honest, even though I have accomplished it once, it still scares the crap out of me.  For a number of reasons really.

Reason #1–  I will be training all by myself.  Last race I had my trusty, reliable training buddy to keep me motivated.  Plus, when I felt I needed to motivate someone else and push them, I was less likely to stop.

Reason #2– Failing.  Like I said, I have done this before.  Not saying that in a boastful way at all…it would just suck to not accomplish it the second time around. Running is such a mental challenge for me.  I know that my body is capable of carrying me, but it’s that head that gets in the way sometimes.

Reason #3– I will run out of patience.  When I think about how long it took for me to work up to running 13.1 miles, I tend to get frustrated that I stopped running after the 1/2 was over. I continued running small distances, but nothing like I was before.   So, here I am starting all over again in the training process and I know I will have to remind myself to be patient an endless number of times.

There are a number of reasons for me to be scared and they would mostly all sound the same and tie back into each other, so I won’t bore you anymore.  As I look back at previous running entries, I cannot help but crave what comes with training for and accomplishing this goal.  Even for the second time.  My sister-in-law, Lindsey, and I will be training simultaneously for this race.  Her in Missouri and myself in Texas.  This will be her second 1/2 as well;  She just finished her first last weekend!   We will be running the Rock N’ Roll Dallas 1/2 Marathon on March 27, 2011.

I know that I can do this.  It will take an abundance of motivation and focus, but I am actually pretty excited.   There’s just nothing like being on a runner’s high and feeling your body get stronger.  There’s an unexplainable confidence that builds inside of you when you begin to see yourself improve.

One Response to Well, here we go again.

  1. Lindsey says:

    You can do this……and you will be perfectly fine!!!!!! I have faith in you!!!!!!

Leave a comment